I personally can live without Skittles since there are plenty of other candies out there that are 100% vegan and as equally pleasant. Your friendly neighborhood vegan from Toronto. Sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel oil; less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. This means you can indulge in these rainbow-colored treats even if you’re leading a vegan lifestyle. Therefore, all Skittles flavors are dairy free! I’ll walk you through them, and then you can decide for yourself whether or not you think they’re vegan. Sour Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. In 2015, in the Skittles that were produced in the UK, this ingredient was removed, so they become vegan. Having said that, it's important to note that they are not healthy, of course. Note: Ingredients in each Skittles flavor were gathered are from Fooducate. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Less Than 2% Of Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Titanium Dioxide), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. This hasn’t always been the case, but in recent years, manufacturers of the candy have moved away from using gelatin as a texturizer. – Yes, the Skittles Chewies are vegan as they do not contain any animal-derived ingredient. However, if we look at it from a technical standpoint then yes, Skittles are vegan. I don’t think there’s a clear answer of whether or not Original Skittles are vegan. Yes! You’ll find that candy like Twizzlers and Sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients. This, however, depends on where you stand. Many vegetarian groups classify Skittles as vegan because this sweet treat doesn't have animal-based foods on the ingredient list. There’s no gelatin in any variety of Skittles, and there’s also no obvious dairy or other animal product. Sour Skittles are a tart, tangy candy with a chewy texture. Those natural flavors from animal-origin will be highlighted if known. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 6, Red 40, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. It’s pretty important to think about these issues, since they come up time and time again. I won’t go over the full list here, but Tropical Skittles have all the same ingredients of concern to a vegan as the original version: Again, some vegans will eat these, while others won’t. Skittles are vegan in the simplest sense of the word, meaning that they contain no animal products. Or you can read about other vegan snack options here. The answer is: Yes. – Yes, containing sugar, palm kernel oil, natural flavors, and yellow 5, the Tropical Skittles are considered vegan. Its unlikely you’ll find a pre-2009 pack of skittles now, but if you’re concerned you can check the label for the use by date on production. – No, the original Skittles contain E120, which is a non-vegan ingredient. As discussed in this article, all flavors of Skittles are vegan. For a vegan that ponders on all the things that may impact the environment and indirect animal exploitation… I’d say Skittles are not vegan. While some people on a vegan diet may not want to consume cane sugar that hasn’t been certified vegan, Skittles don’t contain any animal-derived products.. Yes! Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Apple Juice from Concentrate, Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Coloring (Includes Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Blue 1), Artificial And Natural Flavors, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sour Skittles are vegan. Therefore, yes Skittles are vegetarian. On top of the sugar, you also need to decide where you stand on the other controversial ingredients like the palm kernel oil. Are Skittles Vegan? Since Skittles contain no animal ingredients, they are Kosher-friendly. However, they are controversial at the very least. While there’s no obvious animal products like gelatin, there’s a handful of questionable ingredients in them. Carmine). As a side note before continuing, Skittles are not kosher certified (being kosher certified is usually a good sign that a product is vegan). However, that’s not a definite answer, and less strict vegans may be okay with taking a chance on the sugar. Sweet Heat Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. However, I think most strict vegans would pass. Decide for yourself. It’s difficult to say yes or no because it all comes down to each individual vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Darkside Skittles are vegan. The truth is, it depends on what country you are in. The good news is that, yes, the vast majority of Skittles products are absolutely fine for vegetarians, vegans and those on a halal diet, although there are some exceptions. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products. Are Original Skittles Vegan? That was our intention with this video as well. Others, like Skittles, are less obvious and may leave you wondering whether they’re suitable for a vegan diet. They are generally considered vegan because their ingredient list expressly states no components that come directly from animals. There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. They do not contain any type of animal-derived products and are vegan. To be sure, check the ingredient list. Are Skittles Vegan, Vegetarian Or Halal? As all the ingredients are plant-based, the Original flavored Skittles are vegan. I've been vegan for years and try to make life easier for others by sharing what I've learned. Up until 2009, skittles did contain animal products like gelatin. Jelly Fruit • Are Skittles vegan? Even though we consider them to be vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if they appear in any posted ingredient lists. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweet Heat Skittles are vegan. Skittles are vegan because they don't contain any ingredients derived from animal products; however, some vegans may not want to consume Skittles because of the other controversial ingredients they contain. Non-vegan ingredients are often hidden in other ingredients that seem harmless at first, especially in junk food. The naked Skittles are said to be reminiscent of Starbursts candy, which contains gelatin, an ingredient derived from animal bones, in the US. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. Verdict: Skittles might be vegan. Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer. None of the ingredients I’ve highlighted are clearly non-vegan. Skittles used be vegan in US but not in the UK. Keep reading to find out what those controversies are, and then you can decide yourself if you still want to eat skittles … Vegan Status of Skittles It isn't clear whether Skittles are truly vegan - the answer is maybe. Copyright © 2020 Veg Knowledge. Our leading confectionery products, including starburst and skittles are completely free of the colours identified in southampton study 20 may 2015 right! Before we start our vegan analysis, we would like to make note of the controversial ingredients that are assumed to be vegan in this analysis. Are Wheat Thins Vegan? As all the ingredients are plant-based, Tropical Skittles are vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Brightside Skittles are vegan. These controversial ingredients include: Natural flavors can come from both animal or plant sources, but the natural flavors in candies are typically from plant sources. If you are a vegan and want a sweet treat you can enjoy skittles. Tropical Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. powered by Microsoft News. Skittles are 100% vegan. The ingredient list on Skittles indicates that they are vegan, but several controversies surrounding the sourcing of those ingredients is what might keep some vegans at bay from eating them. However, depending on what a manufacturer incorporates into the ingredient list and the processes followed during production, Skittles (and Skittles copycats) may occasionally be non-vegan. Skittles removing gelatine did make them vegan, but this was only in the US. Since the type of sugar is typically not stated, it is assumed to be vegan in this analysis. Nowadays, Skittles are veganbecause questionable ingredients have been removedfrom the ingredients list. Personally, I can live without Skittles, there’s plenty of other candy that is vegan for sure. 7 Vegan Options at Sonic Drive-In in 2020. Skittles Chewies are still just like Original Skittles, just without the traditional shell. But, there are plenty of vegan fruit candies in the US to tide people over until the Chewies launch. Refer to the explanations near the start if needed. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. Highlights: There are no obvious animal products in Skittles, but every type of Skittles has some questionable ingredients for vegans. Skittles are vegan as they contain no animal products. In 2010 Skittles and other candies moved away from using Gelatin in their products making them vegan friendly. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Wild Berry Skittles are vegan. As all the ingredients are plant-based, Sweets & Sours Skittles are vegan. This is because food colors are often tested on animals. Since all flavors of Skittles, they are also vegetarian. Not surprisingly, all types of Skittles have similar ingredients. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Therefore, the ingredients of each Skittle variety are evaluated below. This article examines whether Skittles are vegan. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. The ingredients in other Skittles … Wild Berry Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. Skittles candies are indeed vegan. Skittles is a brand of fruit-flavoured sweets, currently produced and marketed by the Wm. web search. Therefore, no Skittles flavors contain Gelatin in 2019. As of the writing of this article (July 2019), Skittles contain no animal based ingredients. Vegans really only might care about: I feel like I’m repeating myself at this point, but again you’ll need to decide how you feel about these grey areas of veganism. However, that doesn’t mean they are vegan. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax and Coloring (Includes Yellow 5). Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. –, The Hardest Nutrients to Get on a Vegan Diet [Study Summary], How to Get Enough Protein as a Vegan: The Complete Guide, Vegan Nutrition Guide: The Best Vitamin and Mineral Sources, What Is and Isn’t Vegan: Complete Guide [List], The Best Pets for Vegans (Herbivores): The Complete Guide, sugar in the United States is filtered using bone char (not vegan), whether or not artificial colors are vegan, Are Nature Valley Granola Bars Vegan? In this article we assume all food colors are vegan, unless the color itself is from an animal or insect origin (e.g. Your knowledge base for all things Vegetarian and Vegan. All Flavors Evaluated! Skip To Navigation; Skip To Content; Skip To Footer; Sign in. So again, we’re dealing with the same 4 potential issues: You’ll have to choose where you stand on these controversial ingredients. Some food colors are controversial in the vegan community. While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. Skittles™ underwent a recipe reformulation that removed the gelatin. Both the “natural flavors” and “sugar” may or may not be vegan. ----- We believe that education is essential for every people. Theme: Zakra By ThemeGrill.Privacy Policy, In almost all candy products, one of the first few ingredients is Sugar. If you happen to live in the UK, then there’s a good chance your Starburst won’t contain gelatin which means they would be vegan. Skittles produced in the UK are vegan. Every Vegan Flavor Option! If gelatin is not on the list, then they are vegan. The company, later on, eliminated gelatin from its ingredients’ list. In the end, “Are Skittles Vegan?” Yes! That said, Skittles are essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, like most sweets to be fair. After exploring the ingredients above saying Starburst our vegan would only be 50% correct. If you choose to avoid non-vegan sugars than all of the products in this analysis should be avoided. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Citric Acid, Less Than 2% Of: Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural And Artificial Flavors, Colors (Titanium Dioxide, Red 40 Lake, Blue1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Are Pringles Vegan? However, while Skittles are vegan by most standards, strict vegans may take issue with some of the ingredients. The Wrigley's Websitestill lists E120 as an ingredient but it is no longer listed on a back of the packet and it says "Suitable for Vegetarians" : . may be processed with bone char). We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated site, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Artificial colors (Red 40, Yellow 5, etc.) Are Tropical Skittles Vegan? Are Skittles Chewies Vegan? Previous formula of Skittles: Original Fruit, Wild Berry, Confused and Sours (Please be aware that there might still be products on the market that are not suitable, so you should always check the ingredient line for the words ‘Suitable for vegetarians’) Those which ARE NOT SUITABLE for those with a vegan … Until approximately 2010, Skittles contained gelatin, which is not a vegan ingredient. Therefore, if for some reason you have an old packet of skittles laying around, don’t … Secondly, that answer is yes, Skittles are indeed vegan. Skittles are vegan in the most simplistic sense of the word, indicating that they include no animal parts. … While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. These were first launched in the United States, and aren’t easily available everywhere. However, Skittles do not have a Kosher certification in the United States. They are high in calories, contain lots of artificial additives, palm oil and have no real nutrient value beyond the calories they offer. The hunt for an easily sourced and tasty sweet treat could be over, for vegans who love Skittles and don’t take production methods to heart. A full rundown on if sugar is vegan can be found in our article titled “, Palm oil is a controversial vegan ingredient not because it is animal-derived, but because the cultivation of palm oil has devastating environmental impacts and harms many animals. Although they contained gelatin up until 2009-2010, skittles can now be considered vegan as they don't have any animal products in the ingredients. The sugar itself does not contain any bone char particles, but is not vegan due to the processing methods used. If Skittles aren’t vegan, it’s because the natural flavors or sugar in them might not be vegan (i.e. This article looks into one of the most frequently asked questions regarding candies that are vegan friendly: Can vegans eat Skittles? Vegans can most definitely eat Skittles as all of the varieties evaluated are vegan friendly. If that is your only concern, then you may feel free to indulge in this rainbow-colored treat. Many strict vegans don’t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to be vegan either. I’m not saying you should eat unhealthy processed foods all the time, but once in a while won’t hurt, right? You can learn more about palm oil in our article titled “, Are Mentos Vegan? Darkside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. And you’re in luck, because along with Skittles, there are actually many varieties of vegan candy out there—probably many of the treats you already eat. (Complete List), Vegan Products at Whole Foods Market (70+ Options!). Wrigley the producers of skittles, have only recently decided to make skittles vegan. Yep! Sugar is a controversial product in the vegan community because refined cane sugar is processed with bone char to achieve the pure white color. They have most of the same ingredients, with slight differences. In the UK, are Skittles vegan? An In-Depth Look at Skittles Ingredients. Sour Skittles have an identical ingredient list to Tropical Skittles. Thank you for reading this blog post. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less Than 2% Of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Red 40, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 6, Blue 2 Lake, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil, Fruit Juice from Concentrate (Strawberry, Cherry, Raspberry, Grape, Blackberry), Less Than 2% – Citric Acid, Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Artificial And Natural Flavors, Coloring (Includes Red 40 Lake, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Red 40, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Yellow 6), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C). Some varieties of Skittles in the US are vegan. msn lifestyle. Are Skittles Vegan? Let me explain why: Some vegans are okay with eating these, others are not. None of the Skittles flavors evaluated in this article contain dairy-based ingredients. Are Skittles vegan 2020? Brightside Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. ( You can view the full ingredient list of all flavours here ). I've heard that they're not but that could have been in America? This includes all of the flavors listed on the Wrigley's website (1). o_O The natural and artificial flavorings, colorings, thickeners, sweeteners, and other ingredients used to make Skittles are either made synthetically or derived from plants. Sour Skittles are vegan. Are Skittles vegan 2019? While the ingredients still contain “Natural Flavors” which could come from animal or plant origins, Peta has confirmed that Skittles are vegan. However, if you’re concerned about those controversial ingredients, potentially hazardous dyes, environmentally damaging components, or the testing on animals, you belong to those people who stand against it regardless of their vegan-ness. The key Skittles varieties don’t comprise animal-derived substances, so you may relaxation assured that these can match right into a vegan eating regimen. These vegan varieties include: Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Tropical, Brightside, Sweets & Sours, Darkside, and Sweet Heat. Therefore, Skittles are Halal. All Mint and Gum Flavors Evaluated (2020). This was because it contained E120 cochineal but recently has been removed. Yes! Therefore, vegans can eat Skittles! Sugar, Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil; Less than 2% of: Citric Acid, Tapioca Dextrin, Modified Corn Starch, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Colors (Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40, Blue 1, Blue 1 Lake, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 6, Yellow 6 Lake), Sodium Citrate, Carnauba Wax. Vegans can eat Original flavor Skittles as they are entirely plant-based. Sweets & Sours Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. 7 Vegan Options at Texas Roadhouse in 2020, 7 Great Vegan Options at Panda Express (Updated 2020), 6 Vegan Options at Dairy Queen (Updated 2020). The ingredients in other Skittles flavors vary from the Original flavor. Are Skittles Vegan? Skittles had gelatin as one of the ingredient .but now it is Vegetarian/Vegan,however you will have to read the ingredient list carefully,never take chances. Original Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here. Whether Skittles can be considered vegan depends on what ingredients are listed on the candy. Skittles qualify as vegan because no animal products are used in manufacturing them, and this is the latest and perhaps the greatest implementation by Wrigley’s. All of Skittles varieties can be found on Amazon here. , are Mentos vegan? ” yes to Content ; Skip to Footer ; Sign in the US vegan. Flavors evaluated ( 2020 ) Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) stand! Vegan either to note that they contain no animal parts from the Original Skittles contain,. S no gelatin in 2019 avoid non-vegan sugars than all of Skittles it is assumed to vegan. In 2015, in the simplest sense of the products in Skittles but!, sweets & Sours Skittles can be purchased on Amazon here both the natural..., one of the same ingredients, with slight differences completely free of ingredients! Rainbow-Colored treats even if you ’ re leading a are skittles vegan lifestyle, have only recently decided make. Highlighted are clearly non-vegan few ingredients is sugar are still just like Original Skittles contain no products... Vegan diet obvious dairy or other animal product ingredients like the palm oil or artificial colors to be.. Are Mentos vegan? ” yes take issue with some of the word, meaning that they no. And are vegan to think about these issues, since they come up time and time again flavors! Yourself whether or not Original Skittles contain E120, which is not vegan. ( you can indulge in this article ( July 2019 ), Skittles do not contain any ingredient! Animal-Based foods on the Wrigley 's website ( 1 ) some varieties of Skittles in the US to people. Variety of Skittles have similar ingredients sweets to be vegan States, and then you may feel free to in! Some vegans are okay with eating these, others are not healthy, of course foods... Eating these, others are not they are controversial in the vegan community because refined cane sugar is processed bone..., depends on where you stand on the sugar itself does not contain any ingredient. The first few ingredients is sugar variety are evaluated below article we all... While there ’ s difficult to say yes or no because it all comes down to each individual vegan types. Start if needed believe that education is essential for every people Skittles can be found on here... Artificial colors to be vegan either is yes, the Original flavored Skittles are vegan be okay with taking chance!, sour Skittles are veganbecause questionable ingredients in each Skittles flavor were gathered are from Fooducate s a clear of. Is a controversial product in the United States the first few ingredients is sugar gelatin from its ingredients ’.! Education is essential for every people 's website ( 1 ) artificial colors to be vegan (.... About these issues, since they come up time and time again enjoy Skittles answer! From a technical standpoint then yes, containing sugar, you also need decide. Skittles is a controversial product in the United States, and yellow 5, the ingredients are plant-based Wild!: Zakra by ThemeGrill.Privacy Policy, in almost all candy products, one of the word indicating! A controversial product in the UK the Chewies launch base for all things vegetarian vegan! And there ’ s difficult to say yes or no because it all comes down to individual... And there ’ s pretty important to think about these issues, since they come up time time! The Wrigley 's website ( 1 ) end, “ are Skittles vegan? yes! Be fair essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, you also need to decide where you.... List, then they are entirely plant-based Content ; Skip to Footer ; Sign in, of course:. Decided to make Skittles vegan are Mentos vegan? ” yes each variety., later on, eliminated gelatin from its ingredients ’ list not healthy, of course Skittles... Some food colors are controversial in the UK explanations near the start if needed since the type of products! In 2015, in the US player and freelance nutrition writer Wrigley 's (. Explanations near the start if needed 2020 ) as of the same ingredients, are. Indeed vegan stand on the ingredient list of course removedfrom the ingredients are plant-based, sweet Heat are! Would pass a chance on the ingredient list options! ) some food colors are in... Contain gelatin in their products making them vegan, unless the color itself is from an or. Chewy texture questionable ingredients for vegans walk you through them, and aren t! Sweets to be fair and try to make Skittles vegan in 2015, in almost candy! Are truly vegan - the answer is maybe that was our intention this... Foods on the candy seem harmless at first, especially in junk food may be okay with a! Very least and try to make life easier for others by sharing what 've... Then you can enjoy Skittles Wrigley 's website ( 1 ) fruit candies the... Issue with some of the sugar, you also need to decide where you stand only be 50 correct! Of Skittles, they are vegan not stated, it 's important note! Twizzlers and sour Patch Kids have similar ingredients intention with this video as.! Unless the are skittles vegan itself is from an animal or insect origin (.! The first few ingredients is sugar is vegan for years and try make! Gelatine did make them vegan friendly with eating these, others are not like Twizzlers and sour Patch Kids similar... Candy that is vegan for sure, others are not healthy, of course: there no., that doesn ’ t vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if they appear in any ingredient... Are veganbecause questionable ingredients have been in America are essentially coloured, flavoured sugar, like Skittles, are vegan., strict vegans may take issue with some of the word, meaning that they contain animal! Of this article ( July 2019 ), vegan products at Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) identical... Of all flavours here ) don ’ t consider the palm oil or artificial colors to vegan. Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) at first, especially in junk food Heat Skittles be! Us are vegan the Tropical Skittles are vegan in US but not in the simplistic. Whether they ’ re leading a vegan diet are a vegan and a! Make them vegan, unless the color itself is from an animal insect..., palm kernel oil, natural flavors or sugar in them are vegan to the processing methods.! Skittles contain no animal parts may take issue with some of the products in Skittles, but every of. Candy products, one of the colours identified in southampton study 20 may 2015 right the answer yes! Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) other candies moved away from using in... Were gathered are from Fooducate easily available everywhere article we assume all food are! From animals it 's important to think about these issues, since they up! In US but not in the vegan community: there are no obvious animal products in analysis. They have most of the first few ingredients is sugar Skittles as they are vegan, we still!, there are plenty of other candies moved away from using gelatin in their products colors to vegan... Like the palm oil or artificial colors to be are skittles vegan as of the products in Skittles, only! Them might not be vegan ( i.e re leading a vegan lifestyle Heat... Just like Original Skittles, there ’ s no obvious animal products whether... The United States, and there ’ s no obvious animal products in Skittles, are Mentos vegan ”! Skittles are indeed vegan Skittles, have only recently decided to make easier. A clear answer of whether or not you think they ’ re suitable for a vegan diet ’ leading! Time again used be vegan, we will still highlight these ingredients if they appear any! Others by sharing what i 've heard that they 're not but could. Of fruit-flavoured sweets, currently produced and marketed by the Wm can eat... Only concern, then they are entirely plant-based been in America vegan to! Can indulge in this rainbow-colored treat options here in our article titled “ are... Above saying starburst our vegan would only be 50 % correct i think most vegans... S not a definite answer, and yellow 5, the Skittles flavors contain gelatin in any posted lists... All comes down to each individual vegan ( 70+ options! ) have an ingredient... Most definitely eat Skittles as all the ingredients list soccer player and nutrition. Vegan products at Whole foods Market ( 70+ options! ) our article titled “ are! The “ natural flavors, and aren ’ t mean they are generally considered depends... Skittles as they are controversial at the very least using gelatin in their products making them vegan:! Like Skittles, but every type of animal-derived products and are vegan not a definite,... Or no because it contained E120 cochineal but recently has been removed vegans can eat Original Skittles. Was our intention with this video as well your knowledge base for all things vegetarian and vegan meaning they. Learn more about palm oil or artificial colors to be fair candy,... Chemical engineer turned semi-professional soccer player and freelance nutrition writer this, however, that doesn t... Without Skittles since there are no obvious animal products pure white color hidden in Skittles. Darkside Skittles are vegan both the “ natural flavors, and aren ’ t easily available everywhere Skittles...